Premier Music Bounces Back…Signs Five New Acts

Many record companies have been forced to closure and the surviving ones crippled by piracy, low pricing of cds, lowering of quality of music and artistes, and changing technology, among other factors. However, one of Nigeria’s oldest and biggest record company, Priemer Music resurfaces with a re-branding concept that they hope would enable the record company stay afloat amid the unfavorable economic and business environment it finds itself.


“The strategic aim of a business is to earn return on capital and if there is an unsatisfactory return in the long run, it is imperative to correct the deficiency or the activity abandoned for a more favorable one,” says the company’s Business Development Manager, Mr. Lanre Fakeye.


Mr. Fakeye further revealed that as a means of consolidating the Company’s heritage, the management structure of Priemier have undergone some changes. He stated that the changes were necessary to enable the company integrate fully and competitively into the global market space. At an event tagged Unlock the Future of the New Premier, guests not only witness the unveiling of the new Premier Records but also the unveiling of five recently signed acts under their stable.


Unlock the Future of the New Premier unveiled R&B acts Pricilla and Shakomended (Mr. Fakeye’s alter ego), dancehall act, Chaka da Soulja, and pop acts, Osagie and Z-Byte. Notable guests at the event included Lagos State gubernatorial aspirant Jimmy Agbaje, who is also chairman of the board of Premier Music, and verteran artistes, Sir Victor Uwaifo, Oritz Wiliki among a host of others.


Premier Records Limited has been at the forefront of music production and promotion since 1963 when incorporated as Phillips (West Africa) Records Limited. They have produced and promoted great artistes like Late Chief Osita Osadebe, Late Rex Lawson,

Rex Williams, Celestine Ukwu, Late Yusuf Olatunji, Sir Victor Uwaifo, Dr Victor Olaiya, Dan Maraya Jos, Alex O, Alex Zitto, The Mandators, Blackky, Orits Williki, Ras Kimono, Mike Okri, Onyeka Onwenu, Evi Edna Ogholi among others.


Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s